Reviews of
Stuttering & Anxiety Self-Cures, 3rd Edition
By Lee Lovett

65 Reviews, All 5 Stars (as of 5/27/19)

5.0 out of 5 stars - This Book Changed My Life Forever!
Johnson Sun, May 20, 2019

As a person who has stuttered since three years old, I urge all to read Lee G. Lovett’s book. I want to share my story. Though my experience, I hope more people who stutter will read the book, train their mind, and change their lives.

I can’t remember when I didn’t stutter. My parents told me that I ‘learned’ it from a boy older than me when I was three years old. Now, I have forgotten the kid’s name and appearance, but I can remember the pain this problem gave me. Several years ago, I dated a girl and then she refused me because of my stuttering. When I worked in Shanghai, China, I was a team leader. I needed to report to my bosses at a monthly meeting. If I was lucky enough, I could give an okay presentation. However, mostly, it’s been a nightmare for me.

In August 2014, I moved to upstate, New York, for my master degree in electrical engineering. Three months later, with enormous pressure in a foreign country, I found I couldn’t talk at all. After communicating with several American friends, I went to a local hospital for speech therapy. It was November 2014. My speech therapist told me some methods to try myself and to relax me during talking. It helped but can’t solve most of my problems. Because my speech therapist speeches well, she couldn’t fully know my feeling. So she can’t give me a hand to get rid of my stuttering. By May 2016, my speech was still terrible, and I was grimacing badly when I spoke. I was desperate and began to search for books through Amazon. I found Lee’s book.

Lee is a fantastic person. After he received my email, Lee urged me to read the book as soon as possible and offered free video talk after this. In the book, Lee provides several methods to stop stutters during talking. In the last two chapters, the most critical part of the book, he introduces auto-suggestion and self-hypnosis as root methods to defeat stutter. When I read the book, I could feel that Lee knows every detail of stutter. After reading the book, I thought I was equipped with super weapons to fight my stuttering. Through video talks with him, and with his book, by late 2016, I was able to stop stuttering and making bad faces when I speak. For the first time in my life, when I speak, people don’t think that I stutter. Now, more and more times, I can feel that I’m relaxed and comfortable when I speak with others. I can feel my progress every day. It has now been almost two and a half years since I stopped stuttering. I have not relapsed.

Only a person who used to stutter can help people who stutter. Friends, if you are struggling with stuttering, Lee’s book is no doubt the book you need. He used to have serve stuttering and now as he said, he is 99% stuttering free. However, from my eyes, he is stutter free. Please allow yourself to change your speech and your life forever. If I can do this, YOU also CAN do this. Get Lee’s book and talk with him now, as he may not be able to do this forever.

5.0 out of 5 stars - A practical and effective guide to end stuttering!
Will M., May 16, 2019

I’ve stuttered for most of my life, from a very young age. Thanks to this book, and FREE Skype-coaching from the author, I am turning that around. Many have said that stuttering cannot be cured. Lee Lovett has proven otherwise through his own self-cure experience, and those of the many people he has helped to overcome stuttering.

It’s not an easy fix. There is no silver bullet. It takes hard work to self-cure stuttering. As detailed in this book, it involves breaking bad speech-habits, forming new positive speech-habits, and a daily regimen of reading out loud. But only you can cure your stuttering, and I think that it’s well worth the effort.

Lee’s non-profit organization, Speech Anxiety Anonymous, can provide a wealth of assistance at absolutely no cost to you. Whether you buy this book or not, I recommend reaching out to SAA if you’re a person who stutters.

There’s a lot of great wisdom in this book, from a man who cured his own stuttering, and turned his life around. Thanks to this book and Lee’s methods, I have reduced my stuttering to a level where strangers I speak to can no longer tell that I have a speech impediment. I’m still working at eliminating stuttering and stutter-fears completely, but it’s only a matter of time for me. If you stutter, read this book, apply its methods, and don’t give up, I believe it’s only a matter of time for you as well!

5.0 out of 5 stars - Beautiful book, one of the best books I have ever had the pleasure to read.
Francisco J Carrillo Robles, April 16, 2019

This book has helped me immensely in my speech. I will admit that my stuttering was not as severe other peoples stuttering might be. Mainly it only happened when I spoke Spanish, and in English it would only happen when my anxiety kicked in.

Well Mr. Lovett addressed both issues for me. One of his tips is to expand your vocabulary, so when you feel like stuttering when you get to one word, you simply substitute it for another. So I started reading many books in Spanish, Mexican literature etc. Now, I seldomly stutter in Spanish, and it feels great to be able to sit there with my family and be able to converse with them, which was something I was never able to do before.

Expanding your vocabulary isn’t enough, throughout the book he reiterates and emphasizes that you HAVE TO LEARN to control your mind. All the methods he gives to accomplish this is priceless. Those methods not only have helped with my stuttering, but have allowed me to control my anxiety and improve on other aspects of my mental health.

I will recommend this book to anyone, even if you dont have a stuttering problem. Its friendly, its a feel-good book, and it will help you immensely, even if you dont have a stuttering problem.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Everything in this book is truth!
Anonymous, April 12, 2019

Lee is a god sent! Because of his effort and dedication to writing a book to help other people with their stuttering, he is helping so many people self cure! All the concepts and ideas in this book make so much sense. Stuttering has to beaten and crushed with the crutches and auto suggestions to increase fluency. With dedication, patience and perseverence I believe every person can beat stuttering with Lee’s methods. He skypes with me every week and I’m already seeing improvements. It would be a huge mistake to not buy the book!

5.0 out of 5 stars - Best book by far on how to beat stuttering
Amazon Customer, March 22, 2019

Amazing book. Mr. Lovett knows everything about stuttering there is to know. When I was reading his book for the first time, I was surprised how similar our experiences were. He offers methods on how to beat stuttering and they absolutely work if you are willing to put in the effort. If you master the methods in this book, you will cure yourself from stuttering 100%. He also offers free skype sessions, which help tremendously. He is such a knowledgeable and great person. I can’t recommend this book enough!!! Excellent book!!!

5.0 out of 5 stars - The Practical and Innovative Guide
Amazon Customer, March 3, 2019

If I am asked to use one word to describe Lee’s book, I would say it is very PRACTICAL. Lee’s methodology is different from most therapists: he first teaches you how to *dodge* stuttering, and after successfully avoiding stutter occurrences, you get confidence and stuttering goes away.

In contrast, what my previous therapists told me was not to manipulate my speech. For example, after some trainings and when I could speak fluently in the therapy room, she advised that I should not change any feared words and should believe that I can pronounce a feared word and then I will say it successfully. This would work if I really have that level of confidence in real life. But when I went out of the therapy room, I did not always have that level of confidence, and if I force myself to be brave, stutter occurred and previous training failed. Even If I made a last-minute change of word and did not stutter, I felt guilty. I thought I lost another chance of beating a feared word and I reinforced that word as my feared word.

Lee is totally different. He writes that “only use a word that you don’t think of,” or, “change a word, or even the complete thought.” Then I found that when I stopped fighting with those most feared words and started to use other alternative words, after a few weeks, my fear level of those words went down, and I could pronounce them successfully! Again, my point is, Lee’s methodology is INNOVATIVE in the sense that it is very PRACTICAL. It seems that he teaches you “cheating” when speaking, but it doesn’t matter–beating stuttering is not an exam. In the end, you will not need to “cheat”, and for most stutterers, temporary “cheating” gives you exactly the level of confidence I mentioned above when encountering stutter-fears.

Another method that I feel extremely helpful is that “practice crutches when you don’t need them.” For a mild-stutterer like me, I do not stutter many times a day, so if I do not practice the crutches when I don’t need them, I do not have enough practices and do not have enough reinforcements to tell myself I can use them successfully when I need them in high pressure situations.

It is hard to describe in this review all the methods that I would call “brilliant”. Lee really understands stutterers, and he understands different types of stutterers, and described them accurately and gave tailored methods, in his new version book. His selfless tutoring provided him very rich experience and expertise. You should read this book and skype with him.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Very helpful
DeeDee, January 4, 2019

This has opened my eyes regarding this problem & I have gained so much knowledge from this tutorial.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Definitely helps me.
Andrew Stevens, December 23, 2018

It’s been helping me a lot! Must have

5.0 out of 5 stars - I am now curing my stutter!
Greta Fiedler, December 17, 2018

I grew up with the idea that stuttering was permanent. I had a grandfather who stuttered severely and died stuttering severely. When I developed a mild-stutter around the age of 5, my family assumed I had inherited the “stutter gene”; my fate was decided. Lee Lovett was able to change this mentality. Lee teaches that all stutter-ers allow themselves to stutter, which turns out to make perfect sense to anyone with a stutter! We pile our minds with negative thoughts, we hesitate, we ignite fear before we speak, we are warped in a never-ending cycle of fear of stuttering = more stuttering. Most importantly, we KNOW this, but we still believe we will stutter forever and that there is no cure. After reading Lee’s book and implementing a couple of his suggestions, my stutter was reduced by 50%. I now Skype with Lee weekly for free speech lessons, and I know once I commit myself fully to the cure, I will no longer stutter. Read this book. You have nothing to lose, and an entire new life to gain.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Nothing less than a life-changer
Kat, December 16, 2018

I saw myself improving week after week as I implemented the strategies suggested by the author. This book gave me a lot of confidence and useful insights to battle my long-suffering speech impediment. It also encouraged me to have a more positive outlook on the problem and on life in general.

I didn’t have a very severe problem to begin with, most of the time I was perceived as a normal speaker. My stuttering was very situational and sometimes random. It was mostly with authority figures or strangers but could also happen randomly talking to a co-worker I have absolutely no fear of. I could go from being 99% fluent to a small block every other sentence for no apparent reason. I was also terrified of 2 common situations in particular: talking on the phone and talking when other people around can hear me, such as ordering food at a restaurant or talking on a crowded train.

After reading the book and having a few Skype sessions with Coach Lee (as we endearingly call the author), I began self-analyzing and played around with the various methods he taught. I was able to determine which ones were most helpful to me and doubled down on those. Reading aloud (fluently) for as long as possible everyday was a good starting point for me, as was talking as much as possible in “safe zones”. I used some of his crutches and began auto-suggestion treatments.

2.5 months later, I have made more progress than I ever imagined possible. The key is getting rid of the fear in my head. Speak without planning words or hesitating, and fear cannot kick in. Daily auto-suggestion treatments tailored according to my needs help me remain confident and ensure I continue to have the right mindset. My fear of speaking has reduced by 80% – I can now speak on the phone comfortably in most situations and I can sit at the bar at a restaurant and not worry or be too self-conscious that “the whole world” (in other words, other customers, bartenders etc. lol) can hear me. I have not had a stuttering incident in weeks.

This book and getting help from the author directly helped me, and I am confident that it will help you too. If you are willing to put in the work and have the right attitude, you too will succeed 🙂

5.0 out of 5 stars - Helpful
Amazon Customer, December 9, 2018

If you’re a stutter please get this book. Read it all. It’s very helpful. Lee will put time in you and he will do all he can to help you. No matter how long it’ll take.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Stop stuttering.
Amazon Customer, December 4, 2018

Lee’s book is a gift to anyone who has struggled with stuttering. I’ve been a stutterer for more than 30 years, and only within the last 12 months began making it my mission to eradicate this behavior from my life. Lee is only the second person I’ve found who has self-cured, and I’ve been working with him now for about a month. Don’t listen to what the members of stuttering internet forums like on Reddit might say – stuttering can be overcome. And permanently. After 12 months working with Jeffrey Gurian (the other person who cured himself), Lee’s methods are the perfect compliment to take me to the final stage of my cure. This book unpacks the methods to learn to stop stuttering. I.e., you must avoid stuttering if you want to stop stuttering. To do this, Lee teaches what he terms “crutches” to avoid a stutter. The important bit here is that the crutch is a temporary support process that lets the stutterer hear their voice fluently and not stutter. To get more time hearing oneself fluent, he recommends reading out loud. This (reading out loud) has been the biggest tool to help me improve over the last year. It sounds simple, but is quite difficult to make time for and commit to. Finally, Lee (like Jeffrey) advocates using self-affirmations to change how the stutterer actually thinks. If you told me this 5 years ago I would have laughed and said it is silly. But the proof is in the results – both for myself and the hundreds (maybe thousands?) of people Lee has helped. Without question, the affirmations work. What you tell yourself is your reality. And humans will move heaven and earth to conform to their impression of themselves. Make no mistake: affirmations work. Combined with reading out loud and the crutches, the stutterer can begin making stuttering a thing of the past. But, and here’s another big part of this: stuttering is a symptom, it’s not the actual problem. We can stop stuttering, but we also need to unpack and move past whatever the actual underlying problem is (e.g., fear, anxiety, etc.) This work isn’t easy. I’ve worked like hell for a year, but the progress in my speech and attitude are nothing short of incredible. I’m 95% fluent in all environments, happier, significantly more optimistic and friendly, etc., and combined with Jeffrey’s approach and Lee’s approach, the light of perfect fluency is very clearly visible at the end of the road. -Dr. Joe D.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Fantastic Book
Amazon Customer, December 4, 2018

This book is absolutely incredible. I’ve been stuttering for as long as I can remember and was recommended this book by a friend. After reading it I noticed around a 10% reduction in my stuttering. The concepts put forth in this book really work, you just need to put the time in and you’ll see results!

5.0 out of 5 stars - The book alone wont fix your stutter, you have to change the way you think
Braxton B., October 1, 2018

I had read other stuttering books in the past and their approach was alitle to clinical for me, I am glad I found Lees Book it gave me hope I was going through a very rough time and it was what I needed to kick start myself into a happier and more fluent life. Now instead of ” I cant’s” every day I replace them with “I will” “I am” “I can”. I have read a assortment of self help books and after reading Lee’s its like it all clicked for me. The one thing they all had in common was that the power was in my thoughts, I needed to change from negative to positive. So I brought other books Lee recommends in his book to help me condition my mind and I have seen noticable improvements. I meditate daily, use auto suggetions, go to the gym, eat healthy. I realized if I wanted to see change I had to change myself physically and mentally. I took ownership of my life and you can too. I still am working on myself and speech daily but every day in every way I am getting better and better 👍🏽 Thanks Lee! btw If you need help make sure to contact lee on facebook for free skype speech lessons

5.0 out of 5 stars - Great book, very helpful. Lee is amazing man.
noam goldface, September 28, 2018

Great book, very helpful. Lee is amazing man.

5.0 out of 5 stars - It is a must read if you are willing to invest time to solve your stuttering problem
Nayan Solanki, September 14, 2018

I have been suffering from stuttering since my childhood. I, also, had stuttering therapy for almost 2 years, however, I was not satisfied with the outcome. Thus, I looked for books and other resources when I came across the book. It gave a positive perspective to fight my problem and motivated to work on it. I would say I improved 40-50% within 4-5 weeks of reading the book. I am still following the methods suggested in the book and hope to improve further.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Lee’s methods work
Daniel, September 9, 2018

Having been a Person who Stutters since a long time ago, I have tried different kinds of cure. None worked. Lee (the author) does not offer a magic pill for cure, nor is there one. His methods, when combined with consistent effort and hard work, results in the Stuttering Demon slowly but surely disappearing from your life, heralding the return of fluent speech. I am well on my way.

5.0 out of 5 stars - From a skeptic to a believer
vlad, September 6, 2018

After years of trying and struggling for fluency, I can honestly say this book and the techniques mentioned in it work, but they only work if you do. Lee does a great job breaking down and giving a framework for fluency and for becoming a great speaker and overcoming whatever speech anxiety may be plaguing you. For me reading the book was one part, the second more crucial part was weekly Skype sessions with the author that help put in practice the teachings in this book. The mind is a stubborn master but it can be retrained to work for you, not against you.

Get the book, do the reading, do the work, stick with it, exercise patience it will pay off and always remember to smile !!!

5.0 out of 5 stars - Amazing book. Great experience from someone who’s had to deal with this personallhy
WH, August 18, 2018

Lee has done a tremendous job sharing his own experience, combined with a systematic structure of various approaches, as well as ample references to other experts in the field.

I have had to cope with various speech issues since I was little, and have overcome almost all of them, and stuttering is the last thing on my list. As a relatively high-achieving and extremely self-critically individual, stuttering always felt like something I shouldn’t have, I don’t deserve to have. I’ve been feeling victimized for a long time and helpless given the lack of a clear pathway to cure. Throughout the years, the problem has come and go.

After my first email to the author, Lee immediately responded and offered a time to Skype. I was impressed by his drive, and touched by his passion. Unlikely most therapists, Lee is uniquely adept at the job because he’s lived through it himself. I cannot be more grateful for Lee and cannot wait to embark on the journey of battling stuttering with him.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Finally Some Hope for you stutters!!
GoodGuy, August 7, 2018

Hello, fellow stutters, finally some hope on the horizon, please buy this book, this is the first time someone says that there is a final cure (yeah that’s right!) in contradict to EVERY SINGLE speech therapist, the author gives FREE sessions on Skype, and he shows proof by posting on his website, from real former stutters, that were cured FULLY, I read this book and it already had made some very good improvements, (although I was too lazy to implement all his ideas). I don’t know of anybody that does what this author does, he is really here to help you and it’s for free!

5.0 out of 5 stars - Recommended for people who stutter who have not had success with traditional speech therapies
Kelly, August 6, 2018

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who stutters or anyone who regularly interacts with a person who stutters. Lee’s approach to self therapy is unique from many other methods I have tried in that he does not advocate for acceptance of ones speech impediment and he does not try to teach control of speech mechanisms (ie controlled breathing, intentional stuttering). I have only been using his techniques for a few weeks but I am already seeing improvement in my speech and in my overall anxiety about speaking. I have not totally overcome my speech impediment but I believe that I am well on my way to achieving fluent speech when speaking in stressful situations. Lee is a fantastic person who generously spends his time Skyping and corresponding with his readers to help them implement the techniques he outlines in his book.

5.0 out of 5 stars - great book for speech improvement
HealthBuff, August 4, 2018

Great book to improve speech especially in anxious situations. Highly recommended.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Great for people who stutter
Ryan C., July 26, 2018

Excellent book about stuttering, the techniques and advice in this book are great. I’m now Skyping with the author and look forward to a life of fluency.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Practical and concrete book to overcome stuttering.
George, July 20, 2018

Read it several weeks ago and have seen significant improvement. Finally a method and frame of mind to beat this problem after three decades of struggle. Not based on theory and medical studies, but based on practical approach that has worked with him and many others who have read the book. Lee also offers skype sessions that are very helpful.

5.0 out of 5 stars - A Stutterers Road Map to Fluency.
Rice, July 17, 2018

Reading this book has changed my outlook on stuttering. Lee puts together a masterpiece that makes all stutterers realize what they’re up against in daily life. Stuttering is an obstacle; but it will make the one currently suffering stronger in the end. Self discipline is key, but I do believe Lee has reinforced a solid way to become an “undetectable” stutterer.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Crutches and Auto suggestions
Darvano, June 17, 2018

It feels like I’ve been stuttering forever. I was five, I think when I started, but a miracle happened. I was searching the internet for help with my stutter when I found Lees video and book. It builded confidence. It encouraged me to talk to myself and to practice my speech. It also taught me NOT to really focus on stuttering when I’m about to talk. This helps me when speaking to my co workers and to everyone when I’m under pressure. I used to not be able to get my words out, almost none at all. But I found an answer. The methods in this book really worked for me and changed my life.I loved Lee’s book It gave me belief that it was possible to beat stuttering

5.0 out of 5 stars - My Stuttering Has Been Reduced Noticeable
Lewis, June 13, 2018

I accidently came across Lee’s book while searching around on Amazon for reading materials. After reading the reviews I decided to give it a try to find out if it would work for me since there was nothing to lose.

After a few weeks of reading aloud and practicing crutches whenever I can, my stuttering has been reduced noticeable. I feel much more confident and less anxiety when I talk. My voice sounds clearer and is more in command.

I used to fight my stuttering, try to force the words out and it was always a struggle. I no longer have to do that. I can apply one of the crutches when needed which require my practice to master it.

Thanks Lee for providing the free Skype session. Time will tell but my progress seems very promising.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Lee has wonderful ways to show you how to get there
Amanda Boice, April 29, 2018

This book is very helpful in the road to being stutter free. Lee has wonderful ways to show you how to get there. I urge anyone who stutters to get started on this book.

5.0 out of 5 stars - The ONLY methods that work
Fahad N. Sheikh, February 25, 2018

To all stutterers who are reading this review, GET THIS BOOK. It is the only way to beat ‘demon stuttering’, as Lee calls it. I have been stuttering heavily my whole life and have had multiple speech therapies, medicinal treatments, psychiatric drugs; every thing seemed to work for a short time and the relapse was always much more severe than before. It is normal to lose hope after years and years of disappointment with “promising” treatments. I am a medical student who has been observing my stutter from all possible angles in the past couple of years, because I refused to let my life be directed by this menace. I kept a journal recording every interaction, recorded conversations and scrutinized them as much as i could. This helped me debunk so many myths about stuttering and made it clear why all therapies fail; because no one who comes up with these treatments and therapies has actually stuttered themselves and has not experienced it first-hand. It is absolutely impossible to understand stuttering without being a victim.
Even though I was learning about it, there were some loopholes in my new, unconventional theories which I found difficult to justify or explain, but I knew I was close. I realized that my own experience, of one person who stutters, is not enough to draw conclusions and find the missing links that were eluding me. I searched for “experiences of people who stutter”. Voila, “what 100+ PWS taught me”. Of course, I wasn’t going to go for this if it had any other name, because I believed that it, like all others, wont tackle the real problem.
As I started reading, I realized that this is another therapy book, but I kept reading because everything Lee was trying to say matched extremely closely to my own observations. Everything made sense. The loopholes, all explained and taken care of. It perfectly summed up what I was trying to do on my own. It filled my heart with joy because I had finally found a book that KNOWS what the problem is. The methods made sense, the experiences made sense, everything was interlinked.
I am sharing my own experience with stuttering and my ways to learn more about it to emphasize that I was reaching the same conclusions (although heavily lacking) as Lee has, even before reading this book. If you record your interactions and scrutinize and observe them, it will be clear to you that the theories mentioned here-in are indeed true. It ‘clicks’ even to those people who stutter but have not yet seriously tried to unscramble the stuttering enigma. Still not sure? Give this book a read and be honest with yourselves. Still unsure? Talk about it with Lee. It’s free. What do you have to lose in this war against demon stutter?
I finished the books and emailed Lee. He replied within a couple of days and he was more excited than I was to help me self cure. THAT is the level of determination and, I would say, magnanimity of Lee Lovett. He really cares that all stutterers beat demon stuttering. He is on a never ending war with it.
In 3 weeks, I have had astounding improvements. The time needed varies from person to person and is based on one’s level of commitment and belief in these methods. There was no doubt in my mind because the theories match my experiences. Not just mine, but everybody’s, I am sure.

Take the first step. I share Lee’s sentiments about going on war with dysfluency because of the suffering it has made me endure. Read this book, give it some thought and time, and you WILL self cure. WE will self cure together.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Everything started making sense the more I read!
Ashley Watts Bannister, January 29, 2018

I have struggled with stuttering my whole life and it has held me back in so many ways until now. I found this book and have been reading it and using the self-cure methods for a little over a week and it has made a incredible difference! If you are searching for something to help with your stuttering issues please give this a try. It opened my eyes to see that I wasn’t alone and as you read it will change your life for the better. I am about half way through and look forward to my reading time every night. I will read it several times just because it is so good and it helps! Please give this book a try and Mr. Lovett’s methods and see if it can’t change your speech as well!!!! Don’t waste anymore time click buy and start today!

5.0 out of 5 stars - This Book Led to My Self-Cure
Michael, January 25, 2018

My name is Michael; I am 50, live in Texas, and work as a senior leader for major oil & gas company managing a large global team. Although I have a successful career, it has been inhibited by stuttering. As a person who has stuttered since age 5, the book STUTTERING & ANXITEY SELF-CURES: WHAT 100+ PWS TAUGHT ME has provided the breakthrough I have been seeking my entire life. The author, Lee Lovett, has self-cured his stutter and has helped many others do the same. In this book, Lee provides the proven steps, tools and resources to realize a life-changing self-cure.

I purchased this book in November 2017 and in less than 2 months I have reduced my stutter from 90% to less than 5%, to the point that I am no longer viewed by strangers as someone with a speech disability! Although self-curing takes significant effort and commitment, I can now trump any stutter with a crutch, making my stutter virtually undetectable to others. Self-curing is raising the quality of my life exponentially!

I became aware of my stutter in early childhood. When I was four (4) years old, I fell off my bike, knocked out my front teeth, and adopted a slight lisp due to missing teeth. I was sent to a school speech therapist who made me acutely aware of my speech and my lifelong stutter grew to become a significant impediment impacting my life every day.

Like many people who stutter (PWS), most every time I speak the wheels in my head spin trying figure out how say or avoid saying the word I already know I can’t say. I have had many terrifying experiences with speaking that were truly humiliating, something only another PWS can fully appreciate. Despite my stutter, I have tried to not allow my speech challenges to be a barrier for achieving personal and professional goals. Because of my stutter, my career growth has been limited, including being overlooked for jobs and not reaching my full potential. My stutter as also resulted limited social interaction, and my friendship circles are small.

I accepted my stutter as a lifelong issue, until I read Mr. Lovett’s book. I was fully committed to follow the steps in the book and I set a personal goal to become self-cured in 90 days. With Mr. Lovett’s help, I did it in less than 60 days! I remain committed to follow the daily routines described in the book to improve my speech. My confidence continues to grow as I now have positive speaking experiences every day. Over the past 2 months, my stutter has become virtually undetectable to others. Simply incredible!

To my astonishment, the author offers one-on-one support via Skype to help people who stutter self-cure. I was shocked that when I reached out to Lee, he agreed to Skype with me! Now that I am self-cured, I plan to follow his example by volunteering my time to help other people who stutter conquer their stuttering. Maybe we will speak someday and I can help you like Lee has helped me!

At work I regularly lead meetings, host global conference calls and give presentations in front of large groups of people. Most of the jobs over my career have required me to speak, making every day challenging and many days terrifying. I now have the confidence in my speech that my mind space is no longer 90% consumed by thoughts and fears of my next stutter.

My journey to self-curing is just beginning. Although I will always be a person who stutters, making self-curing a priority every day, I am managing my stutter to become undetectable. After learning and practicing how to use the crutches described in the book, I started building positive speaking memories. Speaking is now getting easier every day! Lee has inspired me to reset my goals beyond undetectable stuttering and turn my speech into a strength instead of a weakness.

Thank you Lee, I sincerely appreciate your life-changing book and personal commitment to help me. Congratulations on making a huge difference in the quality of life for others. Your passion to help people who stutter is truly inspirational!

Michael in Texas

5.0 out of 5 stars - Lee’s book has helped my 4 year old son to beat stuttering. His progress has been amazing with his stuttering reduced by 90%.
julie morris, January 21, 2018

I read Lee’s book as I have a son who is 4 years old and has been severely stuttering since he started to put sentences together. After a year of speech therapy and little progress I went searching on Amazon for something more. Lee’s book was easy to follow and it made so much sense. I made contact with Lee after finishing his book and asked how we could use the same principles when working with a boy so young. Lee and I have been skyping most weeks. In that time I have been astounded by the progress my son has made. He now speaks with little to no stuttering. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with stuttering or any parent that has a child that stutters and who want a cure that really works.

5.0 out of 5 stars - This book can really change your point about stuttering
Cristiano, December 24, 2017

I read a lot about this problem that conditioning my life and this is the first book that helps you in a pratical way.It helps to change your point of you about stuttering…isnt a obstacle but a resource to be 360 degree a better person.I talk personally with Leo on his skype sessions and I met a man with an enormous culture who want help people to follow his path without nothing in exchange.Its hard to find people like that nowadays.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Most effective advice I have ever experienced to beat stuttering
Tim, December 10, 2017

Lee’s book has been incredibly helpful! I have been stuttering mildly for the past 24 years, tried different therapists and read different books without much success and Lee’s book helped me make my first stutter-free public presentation two weeks ago! Presentations from me are usually disasters but this time was different and two persons from the audience talked to me after the presentation to tell me it was the best talk they heard this year. I could not believe it, I was so happy.

So what’s so special about Lee’s methods? Lee does not believe in controlling our speech, which was what most of methods suggest. Lee believes in creating fluency memories so that our brain can get used to speaking instantaneously, which means without planning words. Lee believes that we should think about the ideas and not the words we want to say, just like we think about where we want to go and not about which leg we will move next. Once we no longer plan words but just let a brain full of fluency memories speak, it is way easier to speak fluently.

How can we create fluency memories? The main way is reading aloud 1 hour every day and other techniques such as auto-suggestions and self-hypnosis also help. Another important advice during the transition from stutterer to self-cured is to reduce the stuttering memories. To do so, Lee suggests twelve techniques (called crutches) to avoid stuttering on feared words. One technique is voice modulation and another technique is skipping the first letter of the next feared word. This helps reducing stuttering memories until we hopefully become self-cured.

After finishing the book, I was impressed by its content and I decided to write to Lee. He replied and offered to Skype with me. I had two Skype sessions with him and his energy, help and advice have been incredible. He is incredibly motivated to help stutterers self-cure and is doing it for free! He helped dozens of stutterers self-cured and if you stutter, reading this book and practicing Lee’s methods every day for at least a few months is probably the best gift you can offer yourself. I have started Lee’s methods last month and I am not 100% self-cured but I regularly have stutter-free conversations and everyone noticed that my speech has greatly improved. I am still working on it and hope to become self-cured in a few months.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Awesome book
Terrell Elliott, December 9, 2017

This is a great book for anyone who stutters or suffers from any type of speech anxiety. Lee believes in his methods and they truly work. He’s even willing to help others free of charge on his own time. If you’re suffering from stuttering or stammering please read this book. It will help.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Informative, insightful and makes sense
Hussain, November 14, 2017

I strongly recommend this book after listening to the audiobook and later reading the electronic version. Lee writes this book based on his experience as a person who used to stutter and brings his personal stories to explain how he comes up with his theories and steps for improvement. The author is confident of his theories based on his own success and after working with others with whom he has seen improvement.

5.0 out of 5 stars - I came upon Lee’s book when I was like, many others
Cindy Xiao, October 27, 2017

I came upon Lee’s book when I was like, many others, desperate for relief of my stutter (or as I now rather label: anxiety/bad habits..and an accumulation of negative thoughts/memories). I like Lee’s emphasis on eliminating EVERY stuttering moment, even the most minutia of them. Moreover, his focus on changing the mind really resonated with me. I realized I’ve trained myself over the years to feel fear and anxiety in speaking situations. My body reacts before I think. That’s how ingrained these bad habits are. I am working on reversing this with Lee through weekly Skype sessions. I’ve been doing the auto-suggestions, as Lee discusses in his book, every morning, night and throughout the day, repeating to myself positive affirmations. It has helped tremendously. The mind is so powerful and that’s where the self-curing resides. No technique will help if we continue the bad habits…thoughts such as anticipating to stutter on a word, visualizing stuttering moments, and etc. These become self-fulfilling prophecies and these thoughts must be replaced.

Lee is very generous to offer his time and wisdom; he has the utmost passion and devotion to help PWS. Thank you, Lee. As Lee quotes in his book,”We have free choice: to accept or reject thoughts. Nothing compels us to think anything except our own desires.”

5.0 out of 5 stars - Highly recommended for stutterers who want to beat stuttering!
Santosh Adhikari, October 14, 2017

I have read several books on stuttering but this one by Lee is the one that seems to be finally working for me. Of course it takes time to master the techniques he outlines in his book but I have noticed substantial improvement in my speech after a few weeks of applying them. In addition, the weekly free skype sessions he provides helping stutterers are very helpful in that he watches you speak and then gives real time advices on what to do what not to do in different circumstances so as to beat stuttering. This is a highly recommended book for all those who have struggled with stuttering like me.

5.0 out of 5 stars - A truely great read. Thank you for your hard fought battle …
Paul Jaskulski, October 9, 2017

I finished reading a loud your Book Stuttering & Anxiety Self-Cures second edition. A truely great read. Thank you for your hard fought battle on stuttering and the time you have given this matter. Your vision to quantify stuttering and put it in such a clear thought out and systematic way is incredible to say the least. I also ordered per your recommendation Happiness In 7 Steps and A Practical Guide To Self Hypnosis. I started practicing the Auto Suggestions and keep a list of them with me to do during any down time as well. I am using some of yours AS from the book and made some of my own. I wrote down the 12 crutches and have been practicing them. The ones that seem to be working for me best right now are the skipping first letters and/or syllables, voice modulation, and just skipping the word entirely and dropping in a different word to describe the same thing. The techniques are very new to me. Since using them for a only a couple of days now I have been observing progress in a positive direction to more fluency. Most of my hard stutter situations come during stressful times such as meeting new people, saying a persons name including my own. Any type of public speaknig is just a no start for me, I may as well be a voice cripple in a public forum because the words just will not come out. I actually have a lot to say generally speaking, LOL no pun intended. The reasons you are helping people who stutter the way you are became more clear to me as I read the book. The work you are doing is nothing short of God’s work and I hope you know this.

5.0 out of 5 stars - I personally love the auto suggestions which are positive affirmations to yourself …
Deven Lara, October 6, 2017

I am reading this book for the fourth time and all I can say is Wow. What makes this book so special is that the author was once someone who stuttered and who self cured himself. He knows exactly how intimidating speaking can be for anyone who stutters. Finally, a book that is written from someone who has been in our shoes and who can personally relate to us.

This book teaches the reader how to avoid stutters by using crutches that enable us to leap frog a would be an embarrassing incident, and boy that can be what makes or breaks the rest of the conversation. There are many crutches that we can use in our weapon of defense because what may one for one, may not work for another since we are all different. The reader will also show how to attack stuttering directly with auto suggestions and self-hypnosis. I personally love the auto suggestions which are positive affirmations to yourself that literally remap your mind improving your speech and your happiness in general, which has elevated my life is such a way it is beyond words. The combination of using the crutches to avoid stutters and the use of auto suggestions, will help you be on your way to fluency in no time.

Do yourself a favor and read this book with an OPEN mind because there is so much to gain. I am currently skyping with the author and have begun my journey to a self cure. The sky is the limit and I am excited to see what I will accomplish!

5.0 out of 5 stars - A unique and simple, yet powerful new approach to combating stuttering
Greg Johnson, October 4, 2017

Having struggled with sporadic stuttering for about half my life, I know how much it can feel like an incredibly convoluted, perplexing and ultimately hopeless problem with no way out. Many books and speech therapists offer merely temporary and ineffective solutions.

I urge you to not lose hope. Lee’s book offers a unique and simple, yet powerful new approach to combating stuttering. The step-by-step methods emphasize positive mind control, teaching readers to focus on delivering their messages with feeling and passion rather than the exact words they intend to speak. You will learn that the mind cannot stutter when truly focused on something other than the fear of words.

Those who are willing to practice daily and consistently with the steps outlined in the book set themselves up for boundless rewards, not only with speech but in many psychological aspects of life. Since completing the book, I’ve begun Skyping with Lee and already feel incredibly more hopeful that I’ll be able to beat stuttering once and for all to unlock my full potential in life.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Getting the self-conscious mind out of your speech
Aphrodite Enterprises, September 29, 2017

My name is Ruth Mead and I wrote Speech is a River about how the “automatic brain” automates speech, as long as we refuse to allow the self-conscious mind to hold back the flow. This book deals with that resistance and tells the reader what to do about it.

5.0 out of 5 stars - A must read book! Immensely helpful.
VK, September 10, 2017

Awesome book!! I have read many book on stuttering but this book takes it to a totally different level. The techniques that author suggests are very helpful. Must read.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Kick stuttering and anxiety out the door!!
Hobby Cook, September 8, 2017

This is an amazing, ground-breaking work. Follow the instructions in this book and you WILL become much more fluent. It takes some effort but the results will be worth it. Thanks Mr. Lovett for your selfless devotion to helping others!

5.0 out of 5 stars - Amazing Book! How to not stutter from a man who used to stutter. Lee is amazing. Amazing Book!
Jay, September 3, 2017

This book is absolutely incredible and anyone who has stuttered can see early on in the book how it can be helpful. Stuttering impacts so much of our lives and has left imprinted memories in our minds that like a trauma can impact how we think about our speech. With tools, techniques and mental exercises Lee shows how we can reshape and restructure our minds to think like a non-stutterer so that we can make our speech flawless in the realm of how a non-stutter speaks. Or at least undetectable. Since Lee used to stutter I feel that he provides insights that an author who did not stutter could not provide.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Lee’s approach to self-curing and makes sense, and applies …
Griffin P. Detrick, August 21, 2017

Lee’s approach to self-curing and makes sense, and applies to all PWS. His writing makes reading a breeze, and the work he asks that you put in after finishing the book DOES MAKE A DIFFERENCE if you practice consistently and believe in it. His methods are a true gift to the stuttering community.

5.0 out of 5 stars - The book that comes closest to a cure
Miguel Sanchez, August 19, 2017

Many PWS (Person Who Stutters) are often perplexed by the concept: Why can I speak fluently in certain situations, yet stutter in others? Why is it when I’m alone, talking to an animal, or even angry, I can speak just fine, but have trouble saying simple words in front of others?

Lovett’s book, from the perspective of an actual ex-stutterer, is the result of experimenting for several years to prove that if you can speak fluently once, you can speak fluently anytime and anywhere.

I’ve been a PWS for well over 30 years. Half the time I’ve experienced semi fluent speech, the other half I’ve faced blocks so severe that they’ve almost felt like seizures. I could talk to certain people with little effort, yet completely freeze with others. I have tried classic speech therapy (Camperdown, Easy Onset), effective in a clinical setting under the attention of a caring therapist, but not much in the outside world. I’ve tried every potential drug treatment plan, from light vitamin and mineral supplementation, to potent prescription medication ranging from Zyprexa, Xanax, . The best they’ve done is reduce the amount of thoughts I have and temporarily forget about mechanics of speech, which indirectly reduced my stutter, but not effective in removing blocks that inevitably appeared.

After the entire experience, I have come to the conclusion that stuttering is a particular method of speech that I’ve trained myself to perform over the years. Like learning to master any ability like playing golf or the violin, I’ve reinforced a labor intensive method of speaking and got very good at it through lots of practice, developing muscle memory, and negative visualization. Perhaps one time I jerked my head back and forth so hard and it somehow resulted in successfully get a word out. I then subconsciously suggested to myself that a violent head bob was one way to produce speech, and refined my method even further. I ended up learning and mastering two completely different ways of speaking – an effortless, fluent version that I practice when alone that has a sliver of chance to qualify for a leading role in Hamlet, and a strange, physical, jerky, and anxiety inducing version when talking to another person. With the first technique, I mostly focus on the message, and focus on a myriad of random physical methods to generate sounds on the latter.

The book’s basic premise is the brain can’t focus on more than one thing at a time. You can either think hard on how you will generate the next stutter (manifest a body jerk, close eyes, etc.), or focus on the message itself. If you choose to focus on the message, there is no thought power left to produce a stutter, and the words automatically follow.

The book’s core theme is to cure this habit of focusing on the wrong thing, by mastering of handful of methods to erase memories of unusual methods of speech production (i.e. stuttering) and replace them with positive ones (i.e. speaking normally). This eventually leads one to ‘forget’ to stutter when speaking, and learn to naturally focus on the message, with speech following automatically. The more memories of stuttering that are replaced with memories of fluent speaking, the better the ratio of fluent vs stuttering moments.

I won’t detail the methods here, but highly encourage reading them in the book in context, and putting them into practice. If you’re curious before reading, the table of contents provides a sufficient preview. The methods can be practiced independently, and all follow reasonable logic or derived from proven concepts in psychology.

Can this book cure you of stuttering? For me, it has provided the most immediate relief I’ve seen from any other form of therapy, whether drug induced, self-taught, or through a therapist. It is a collection of concepts that I believe in, since it repeats the concepts and patterns I’ve discovered on my own at some point during the recovery journey. Each time I use and repeat the concepts, I see visible enough improvement to keep going. The author states his goal was never to be ‘fully cured’, if that’s even possible, but to become undetectable enough to live a worry-free life.

Is there a chance of relapse? Absolutely. As a PWS, we’ve all practiced and refined the rather unproductive art of stuttering throughout many years, and need to accept that we will not forget this habit completely. The treatment requires daily application of replacing these poor habits and memories with positive ones. If you choose to let bad memories and techniques overtake the good ones, the progress dial starts to go backwards to relapse mode. If you continue replacing the habits and memories with good ones, progress dies moves towards fluency. Fortunately it’s a slow process – the dial will not jump into complete relapse of fluency overnight. However, it is your choice to work on moving the dial in the desired direction. The author states the dial is now at 98% fluency, and since perfection is never expected, he’s quite happy with the 2% lingering around. That 2% (Satan Stuttering as he affectionately calls it) will always linger around, and it’s your job to keep it at bay.

I highly encourage any PWS to read this book. In my opinion, of any resource I’ve read, it comes closes to explaining the root cause of stuttering and how to address it via the approach of self-administered cures.

5.0 out of 5 stars - AT LAST–REAL HOPE FOR STUTTERERS!!
Jeff Klayman, August 15, 2017

Few disorders are as perplexing, confounding and ultimately heartbreaking as chronic adult stuttering. The current “wisdom” was and remains that this is an “uncurable” malady that can only be “treated” or “tolerated” by the stutterer. Many therapies, intensive and so-called quick-cures have proven temporary at best and often useless. Lee Lovett, a PWS himself, has written a wonderful, readable book that goes against the grain in every possible way. He disputes and destroys the myths that have been the bedrock and foundation of virtually all stuttering therapies that have been available–UNTIL NOW. Lee is not afraid to challenge the naysayers and doom and gloom proponents and gives a detailed and moving narrative of his own journey from hopelessness to triumph over what he terms the “Satan Stuttering.” Lee offers real hope for self-cure and amazingly offers one-on-one consultation and therapy sessions via SKYPE at no cost to those who read and study his ground-breaking book. Agree or disagree, Lovett makes a convincing argument for not giving up and taking responsibility for one’s own cure–the only possible way to achieve a lasting freedom from the crippling cycle of fear, avoidance and despair that accompany this handicap. Read it with an open mind and a determination and belief that you too can change.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Completely changed my life-a must read for any PWS!
Anon555, August 13, 2017

I have struggled with a stutter most of my life, since I was about 10. I craved for the days when I did not stutter, or better put, did not FEAR stuttering.

As you have so correctly pointed out in your beautifully written book, is that we do not stutter because we stutter, we stutter because we have a FEAR of stuttering.

I started seeing a speech therapist. I wish I had known then what I knew now. It would have saved me at least 5 years of pain. That is, that stuttering can be cured. While I love and adore my ex-speech therapist (I no longer see her as I believe there is no longer a need), some of the teachings I believe were incorrect. For example, she taught me never to substitute words, and to “bounce” out of words- in essence, stutter out of hard words. I knew in my heart this is not what I wanted, nor should I have to accept that I would never be an undetectable stutterer. Why could I speak fluently to myself, to people I trusted, and in certain situations, and speak with a stutter in other situations. I made much progress under her wing, however I was never truly “cured” of my stutter.

It’s strange, most of the concepts you deal with in your book I already started doing on my own. I could not stop clapping or giggling when I read about the fact that you would leave out certain letters and syllables not to stutter. This is exactly what I would do to get out of sticky situations. I think I just needed somebody to tell me that it was okay to do same, and not “bounce” out of the word. I love the fact that you have explained all these weird and wonderful ways to create a memory bank full of positive images, and further, that you have told me that it’s okay to substitute words, whisper, speak like an actor, and entertain. I have a flair for the dramatics, and speaking with an accent, ranging my tone, laughing at myself is what I am all about.

I hardly ever stutter anymore, not even in interviews. Some times on specific words I will still stutter, some times on the phone too. But to anyone who cares to listen, I am an undetectable “stutterer”. I am starting to practice your techniques everyday and I believe that in one year I will be fully cured of my stutter.

I wish I had found your book 17 years ago. I have been changed forever.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Easy-to-use methods
Altaf Hasen, June 11, 2017

Lee is a recovered PWS who has beaten his stuttering using the very methods that are documented here in great detail. If you are looking for a practical book to pin your stuttering to the ground then you’ll not be disappointed. He has detailed several easy-to-use methods in this book to choose from.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Will Be An Influential Stuttering Self-Help Text – Practicality Sets It Apart
Matthew OMalley, June 10, 2017

Lee Lovett’s “Stuttering & Anxiety Self Cures” will go down as one of the great texts of the stuttering self-help movement. What sets this book apart from others is its extremely practical nature. It does not get lost in theory but has a clear objective; to offer real help with real results to the person who stutters in minimizing their stuttering as well as its accompanying anxieties. In working to achieve this, the book has nearly step by step directions.

While Lee Lovett learned his methods over years of experimentation on his own “self-cure”, his methods align with some of the more progressive perspectives on the understanding of stuttering. Lee is an advocate for “spontaneous” speech which is speech free of conscious control. He is also an advocate for influencing and controlling the mind to improve fluency. His coincidental alignment with these perspectives on stuttering lends credibility to his methods.

Also important; the author himself is a person who struggled deeply with stuttering. He understands through first-hand experience the powerful grip and impact it can have on one’s life. What he offers in this book is the culmination of all he has learned in effectively dealing with stuttering.

Lastly, Lee Lovett gives much of himself freely to the person who stutters who is still struggling. He spends countless hours offering free advice and coaching to anyone who seeks it. As a person who is involved in the stuttering community and who has struggled with stuttering himself, I am grateful that Lee Lovett wrote this book and sees helping other people who stutter as a noble cause. Many are benefiting from his efforts and I am confident that number will only grow.

5.0 out of 5 stars - I am still working on my speech and is never been better, my GOAl reach my self cure
Amazon Customer, June 5, 2017

This books is helping me to train my mind against stuttering, if you are willing to work for your cure this book is the solution, DO NOT expect a cure just by reading the book, my life has improved in so many ways, I am still working on my speech and is never been better, my GOAl reach my self cure

5.0 out of 5 stars - Lee’s genuine desire to help people who stutter is evidenced in this book
Carl, June 4, 2017

I discovered Lee’s book on Audible when I was frantically searching for a resource on how to deal with my stuttering. I’m 28, have been stuttering since at least the beginning of grade school, and am what most would consider a “mild” stutterer. I don’t appear to be a severe stutterer because over the years I had found many ways to hide my stuttering from others — avoiding situations, substituting words, and appearing shy/quiet when I really wanted to speak. From the beginning of Lee’s book where he recalls a painfully embarrassing stuttering event from early in his career, it became apparent that he knew what he was talking about. It was refreshing to hear someone accurately recall all of the feelings I’d experienced when dreading a speaking situation. Unlike the speech therapists with whom I’d worked my entire life (from early childhood on up to adulthood), there was finally a STUTTERER who could empathize with me through their own similar experiences.

I read Lee’s book and chatted with him on Skype (he really does this, free of charge, as other reviewers have mentioned) and after getting to know me, he became somewhat of a coach. I’d practice his techniques, practice reading aloud, and began mindfulness exercises (which Lee refers to as auto-suggestions/self-hyponsis). I found that the latter not only helped my stuttering but had a noticeable improvement on my overall mood.

Lee also encouraged me to smile as I talked. This was something so simple that had such a big impact. I’m naturally a cheerful and positive guy — and most of my friends/family come to know me as such — but I noticed when I was struggling with stuttering, I wouldn’t exhibit my positive demeanor. Lee suggested that I really let my personality shine through and enjoy speaking. That helped a lot.

You may be skeptical, but I encourage you to read Lee’s book. His experience as a stutterer gives him a keen understanding into the psyche of the stuttering mind. His methods are clear and free of difficult to understand jargon. They have worked for him and seem to have helped many others as well. I can appreciate his selflessness in giving of his time and energy to help others who stutter to gain confidence and develop a mental fortitude to preserve and conquer their fears.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Wonderful book that has helped me help my son
Amazon Customer, May 22, 2017

My son is 20 and has been a severe stutterer since age 3. He has had all manner of therapies throughout his life but nothing has really helped, not until he found Lee’s book, and read it and began Skyping with Lee. Lee’s methods are not only rapidly improving his speech, they are helping him come out of a very dark hole into which his speech disability has plummeted him – extreme shyness, reclusiveness, almost complete withdrawal from school, work and the world. He is now emerging, and we have great hope. I recently read the 2nd Edition of Lee’s book, and it is even much, much better than the first. It has let me into my son’s world. If you have a speech problem, or if someone you love does, do them and yourself a favour: Get Lee’s book, study it, and Skype with Lee.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Two thumbs up for 2nd edition!
J. Ewing, May 16, 2017

This book is truly helpful for those like me that have dealt with stuttering. I have the first edition which has really helped me to self cure. I know Mr. Lovett through personal weekly and bi-weekly skypes, which are free of charge. He is commited in being a “speech coach” for individuals such as myself. This second edition goes into more details for improving speech and what he himself has learned from coaching other stutterers. As a person who is self curing, all I can say is the techniques Lee Lovett explains do work. It is not an instant “cure”, it takes practice and dedication to master them. There are some that probably doubt that anything can help them improve their speech, I know, I was one of them. I spent a great deal of my childhood in speech therapy and nothing really helped. If you are lucky enough to skype with this guy, you will see what I mean.

5.0 out of 5 stars - he hates stuttering and he seems to love people, and he wants nothing from anyone except …
Ankit Singh, May 11, 2017

I live in New Delhi and am 28 years old. I have been stuttering since I was 3. Lee book is very helpful for Stammerer. His methods are awesome. When under pressure, I stuttered on half or more of my words. I had a number of therapies over the years, but they didn’t really reduce my stuttering by a substantial amount. Six months ago, I found Lee Lovett on Facebook; I got his book and studied. It helped immediately. I then began Skyping with him weekly, and my stuttering is almost gone. 90% of the time, now, strangers would not think that I stuttered. I am convinced that, soon, I will completely self-cure. I owe this to the methods in Lee’s book. He understands stuttering inside and out; he hates stuttering and he seems to love people, and he wants nothing from anyone except to help them. By all means, read Lee’s book and Skype with him. A growing number are self-curing via Lee’s methods. There is no longer a reason to keep stuttering. Lee and his PWS-self-cures are proving it every day. His methods are the best…

5.0 out of 5 stars - Thank you Lee for writing such a great book for those people who want to help themselves …
Gopes, March 14, 2017

Thank you Lee for writing such a great book for those people who want to help themselves cure their speech problem. I’m glad that I had the opportunity to read the book. In it, I discovered powerful techniques about how we can help ourselves to overcome stuttering. I have been using these effective techniques every single day since then; and I see myself transform into a better human being, not just at the speech level wise but also at my personal level.
Therefore, I strongly encourage anyone else out there who is really committed to take their speech to the next level of fluency to give it a try. Its worth it, and its for free.
Again, thank you for you generosity Lee for putting this great book out there to help people overcome stuttering. Many Thanks, May god bless you. Gopes

5.0 out of 5 stars - Not to butter you up, Lee, but your book should be in the pantheon of the most helpful “alternative” stuttering self-help tomes.
Richard Lamoureux, February 8, 2017

This book stays away from technical jargon, and goes right into easy-to-use ways to become fluent. The author even will continue to help you on your journey to fluency, for FREE, via Skype! What are you waiting for? Don’t be afraid to speak up and be heard, and don’t believe you can’t be fluent, people who stutter!

5.0 out of 5 stars - … the Stuttering & Anxiety Self-Cures book and it is fantastic. I really like how much I relate to …
Amazon Customer, January 24, 2017

I have finished reading the Stuttering & Anxiety Self-Cures book and it is fantastic. I really like how much I relate to the book and how Mr. Lovett gets right into the 6 steps, rather than overly discussing the technical and physical causes of stuttering. For me, stuttering has been a mental battle. I already feel like my stuttering has improved and I have only been using the techniques for one week. Highly recommended!!!

5.0 out of 5 stars - Wonderful Book, Amazing Author !
Johnson Sun, November 19, 2016

As a person, who has stuttered since three years old, I urge all to read Lee G. Lovett’s book. I would like to share my story. Though my experience, I hope more people who stutter can give their an opportunity to read the book, train their mind and change their lives.

I can’t remember when I didn’t stutter. My parents told me that I ‘learned’ it from a boy older than me when I was three years old. Now, I have forgotten the kid’s name and appearance, but I can remember the pain this problem gave me. Several years ago, I dated a girl and then she refused me because of my stuttering. When I worked in Shanghai China, I was a team leader. I needed to report to my bosses at a monthly meeting. If I was lucky enough, I could give an okay presentation. But, mostly, it’s a nightmare for me.

In August 2014, I moved to the upstate New York for my master degree in electrical engineering. Three months later, with enormous pressure in a foreign country, I found I couldn’t talk at all. After communicating with several American friends, I went to a local hospital for speech therapy. It was November 2014. My speech therapist told me some methods to fix myself and tried to let me be relaxed during talking. It helps but can’t solve all problems. Because my speech therapist speeches well, she couldn’t fully know my feeling. So she can’t give me a hand to get rid of my stuttering totally. Realized the problem, in May 2016, I began to search books through Amazon. I found Lee’s book.

Lee is an amazing person. After received my email, Lee urged me to read the book as soon as possible and offered free video talk after this. In the book, he provides several methods to fix stutters during talking. In the last two chapters, the most important part of the book, he introduces auto-suggestion and self-hypnosis as root methods to defeat stutter. When I read the book, I could feel Lee knows every detail of stutter. After reading the book, I felt I was equipped super weapons to fight with my stuttering. Through video talks with him, my progress is detectable. Now, more and more times, I can feel that I’m relaxed and comfortable when I speak with others. I can feel my progress every day. Lee asks me to have video talks with other stutters to help them for free after I ‘graduate’ from him. I can’t wait to do this. Also, I believe, the day is not far.

Only a person who used to stutter can help people who stutter. Friends, if you are struggling with stuttering, Lee’s book is no doubt the book you need. He used to have serve stuttering and now as he said, he is 98% stuttering free. But, from my eyes, he is stutter free. Please give yourself an opportunity to change your speech and your life forever. If I can do this, YOU also CAN do this. Get Lee’s book and Skype with him now, as he may not be able to do this forever.

5.0 out of 5 stars - A must have for stuttering
J. Ewing, October 12, 2016

I have stuttered my whole life. My earliest memories of stuttering are around age 5. I have been to different speech therapists over the years but none of them really helped me. I was told that stuttering was incurable and I had to live with it. I considered myself handicapped with no chance of ever speaking “normal” until I read this book. At age 41, I’m over joyed to be able to say that I am self-curing, thanks to this book and my weekly Skype sessions with him. At first I was skeptical, but I’m so glad I got this book and started Skyping with him. My stuttering problem has significantly decreased and Mr. Lovett really knows his stuff. We call him “Doctor Lee” at home. I can’t recommend his book highly enough.

5.0 out of 5 stars - I liked the book very much
Andrey Denisenko, September 9, 2016

I used to be a stuttering lawyer, so the book and the author resonate with me a lot.

I went through an entirely different speech therapy, but I find here exercises which I used either in treatment or just myself.

What struck me as I was reading the book is how crucial it is to feel and experience that you can say what you want to say without impediments. And different therapies propose different ways how to do it. The question is how practical it is. Usually, it’s far from our regular speech, so it’s a challenge to use those techniques in everyday life.

It’s healing to find something to believe in. And stick to it. I wouldn’t call it a ‘cure’, but the point is if you believe in it – it becomes a cure for you.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Simple and effective techniques for any conversation
Manuel Gomez, August 20, 2016

I have always stuttered under pressure, and have often avoid speaking in public because of it. I finished your book today and it was a fantastic, simple and effective. I loved the stories, and the fact that the technique were simple to use in any conversation and even high pressure situations. I also Skyped with him, and that helped too, because he showed me how he uses the methods. He passionately wants to help stutterers.

5.0 out of 5 stars - This unnecessary distorted bias in relation to our speech must be …
Amazon Customer, August 16, 2016

As a recovered stutterer it is always of interest to me to discover how others have overcome the problem.
This book I believe sets a benchmark for the amount of relentless and dedicated focused attention and positive thinking required.
Unlike other undesirable behaviors that can be turned away from and left in our wake, speech and the associated stuttering are constantly in use.
As we all understand, the challenge is to control what the mind / body response is doing whilst the mind is fully engaged in our unique complexities of interaction with another human being. Psychologists will tell you the human mind has a natural negative bias that evolved to protect us. This unnecessary distorted bias in relation to our speech must be replaced with a positive one wich is the emphasis of this book
The contemplative practice used in this book is self hypnosis but I believe any disciplined focusing of ones attention on a practical pathway to solving a problem can be effective as it has the power to work on the subconscious and in our case enable the natural flow of speech.
The book is a great motivator, written with the no nonsense approach of a crisp legal mind. However the very well read Mr Lovett softens it with delightful quotes from literature past and present

5.0 out of 5 stars - Wonderful book, written by a wonderful and generous man
Josh Zello, July 17, 2016

I’ve struggled with a stutter since I was three years old, and haven’t found anything yet to completely get rid of it. I found this book on Audible and decided to give the audiobook a try. It was incredible! The methods that the author shared, as well as the principles of taking control of thoughts were immensely interesting and helpful right away. I then read the Kindle version and that really helped.

In the book, Mr. Lovett invites readers to email him with comments. So, I did. This led to an over an hour-long Skype session (at no charge). He personally coached me, and was quick to offer to help me further, going as far as to offer letting me practice a speaking engagement I have coming up over Skype.

After that, we emailed quite a bit, and we finally set-up weekly 30-minute Skype sessions, also at no charge. Helping stutterers is Lee Lovett’s charity, and his actions prove it. I haven’t totally stopped stuttering yet, but I’ve made serious progress, and I believe that I’m on course to beat it eventually (just as Mr. Lovett did). I’m constantly amazed as Mr. Lovett’s generosity and goodwill to truly help people. This is an amazing book, written to you by an amazing man. I highly recommend it for those who struggle with a stutter.

As such, I give this book and Lee Lovett 5 Stars.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Great product, but any paperback or book version?
Lauren Collette, June 9, 2016

Is there an paperback or book purchase? All other customers bought are digital version for kindle. It’s great to overcome my stuttering from anxiety I’ve overcome past few years. But stuttering is stubborn to lean off to fluently, without paying big bucks again on therapist.

5.0 out of 5 stars - Awesome book
Brian Nolan, June 3, 2016

This book offers the most impactful methods to managing stuttering of any book I have read. Being the boss of your mind, auto suggestion and visualization will change how you speak. It changed mine. Thank you Lee

5.0 out of 5 stars - A stuttering Revolution?
Amazon Customer, May 22, 2016

This books is about a lot more than stuttering. It’s about taking control of your mind and your life. The author argues that stuttering then diminishes as a natural consequence. He seems believable; so, in his case at least, it works. I’ve been at it a month or so, and I can tell a difference. I’m stuttering less. This book may be the beginning of a revolution against stuttering. Let’s hope so. Awesome read!! Highly suggest!

5.0 out of 5 stars - Something differant and better
Grasshopper, May 10, 2016

It has actual steps and requires work but it helping me with my speach issues. It’s principles can also be applied to other aspects of your life.

-